Marvel Madness: the Fantastic Four

A couple of days ago, I went to a (near) midnight movie release for the rebooted Fantastic Four. I was skeptical but tried to stay slightly optimistic.

I have rather enjoyed most of the recent Marvel films with the exception of the following:

The Hulk (2003), Spider-Man, Spider-Man 2, & Spider-Man 3 (2002, 2004, 2007), Fantastic Four & Fantastic Four: Rise of the Silver Surfer (2005, 2007).  I don’t like Eric Bana, the Spider-Man series felt fake, and the Fantastic Four movies were too campy. I know, I know — excuses. Those super hero films just didn’t click with me.

Fantastic Four (2015)

However, the revamped (NEW AND IMPROVED) Fantastic Four was more action and violence and intense. The scenes felt clean and flowed and less campy, except towards the end. It was rushed and anti-climatic for me. Future Husband agreed with me and the rushed ending feeling but he explained his theory about how they were setting up the next film and for spoiler reasons I won’t share. I think the reason I feel so mixed about this movie is because I don’t seem to share a connection to these characters (except perhaps Reed, whose expressions of guilt and grief seemed genuine.)

I did enjoy Dr. Doom’s beard though. I had to look up the actor because I thought he might have been Phil of the Future for the longest time. He’s not. I was also impressed with Sue Storm’s choice in music (Portishead) and a major win for me was that the film did not concentrate on the Sue, Doom, Reed love triangle!

I’d give it a 6.5/10 while Rotten Tomatoes rates it a 3.4/10.

What do you think? Did you enjoy it or hate it?

Leave a Reply

