My 2015 Summer Reading

I have officially declared it fall (since the fog seems to be coming back sporadically) and I need to publish the last of my summer adventures. Which, to me, is no surprise that books were involved because I am a self-proclaimed book nerd since I was 8 years old.

I remember my first Summer Reading Challenge through the local library and racing to reach the end of the yellow brick road (I bet you can guess the theme that year) through reading every book I could get my hands on. Trust me, I didn’t give a single book mercy when it came to my reading log. I remember tackling the Diary of Anne Frank during the summer of transition between 5th grade to 6th grade. It took me a whole summer to conquer War and Peace.

The summers lately require much more attention elsewhere — my 8 year old step-son. As he gets older he’ll become more and more independent but I still love all my time with him. However, I do make sure I get some down time with my books because I might go stir-crazy if I couldn’

t read.

Presenting:

Anna’s 2015 Summer Reading List

Saturday – by Ian McEwan

I started off my summer with one of my favorite authors. I rather enjoyed that the book took place in a 24 hour setting and that it represented the simple idea of actions having consequences as well as the idea to trust your instincts. Everything that Dr. Henry Perowne does earlier in the day directly effects the evenings activities — which take a dramatic turn.

Dinner With Anna Karenina – by Gloria Goldreich

I love finding books about book clubs and was rather excited about this one, since I adore Anna Karenina. However, this one was not as enjoyable as I had hoped. The build up to the reveal of one of the character’s “big secret” was hampered by the constant guilt the other character’s felt due to be curious about their friend’s secret. It was kind of a big blah. But I read the whole thing anyways. If the first 30-40 pages don’t bore me to tears, I’ll usually finish the book, no matter how long it is.

Practical Magic – by Alice Hoffman

This was inevitable for me. I saw the movie when I was young and fell in love with it. Several years after that, I found out that it was based off a book. When I found this gem (at Goodwill, where I get most of my books these days) I had to buy it. I did my best to not compare the similarities/differences from the movie to the book but I didn’t do a very good job. I can understand the changes they made. I loved the book and found it just as enjoyable as the movie.

A Walk West: the Walk Across America 2 – by Peter & Barbara Jenkins

As a person filled with much wanderlust, I love travel memoirs. Peter Jenkins’s first Walk Across America was beautifully done and so was the sequel. It was interesting to see it written from two people’s perspectives compared to the first book with just the one. Newly married couple takes on the dream of continuing to literally walk across America from Louisiana to Oregon. Peter and Barbara make it very clear that isn’t just about the walk; it’s about meeting the people of America and finding the good in everywhere he goes.

Grapes of Wrath – by John Steinbeck

I was born and raised in California and I thought it was time I read a classic about this state. I mean, one of the biggest agricultural centers of America is practically my backyard and this story covers how hard times were just to get here! This book was tough to get started on but I was rather determined. I enjoyed the family and was saddened to see them break apart one by one. I was more sad with the sudden and abrupt conclusion of the book.

5 books in a three month span seems like a short amount of reading but I like to factor in StepSon time, working, going on a vacation — which then led to a funeral, and then before I knew it, it was time to gear up for school again. Plus, let’s be fair, that last book I read was 619 pages. I can’t wait to see what I’ll read next summer!

What did you read this summer?

Image: https://stocksnap.io/photo/IYHAQUIIHD

2 Comments Add yours

  1. DIY Just Cuz says:

    Thanks for sharing this list! I need some new books to read and there are a few on here I haven’t read…I can’t wait to read some of these! Thanks for sharing this at the Welcome Home Wednesday Link party! We hope to see you again next week!
    http://www.diyjustcuz.com

    Like

  2. I love your list! I am a book nerd too and still remember the summer between 11 and 12 when I decided to read the Odyssey… I got through it but I don’t think I understood a single word! Haha! Thanks for sharing at this weeks Welcome Home Wednesday link up! Can’t wait to see what you share this Wednesday!

    Like

Leave a Reply

