Sad Times

Sometimes, what I plan and what actually happens don’t actually match up.

My goal is to create and share a post every week.

However, the past few weeks have been rather busy with school: Capstone Project papers, a grant writing class, and trying to observe children for my development class has me going in circles. Also, my internship has been just been wild between going to conferences, college tours, and senior meetings.

But the biggest reason why I have neglected my beautiful blog is that a friend of mine passed away. We met at our high school freshman orientation and have been buddies ever since. Even though we were not as close as some of my other friends, it still hurts. He grew into such a positive and fun and helping young man that when he got diagnosed with cancer it was such a surprise. He went through the usual chemotherapy, drug treatments, and surgery, which helped a lot the first time around. But when it came back he wasn’t going to survive it so he decided to live the rest of his life the way he wanted.

I was shocked when I found out that he had passed. I know he was sick again but it was still a surprise. I was in quite a funk for about two weeks. I was restless and tired at the same time. I couldn’t focus. I didn’t want to eat and when I did it was junk food. When I came out of the fog, I had a newfound drive to do stuff and thangs. School work is now a bigger priority (if it could become a bigger one than it already is) and I find myself cleaning small amounts of my house every day instead of waiting to do everything all at once. I have rather enjoyed all the photos of my friend that have popped up all over the internet. Knowing that he’s no longer in pain is probably one of the most helpful thoughts for healing.

So, with that being declared, I throw myself back into blogging, life, and work.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Lovely Lady,

    I feel your pain. My grandfather just passed due to cancer. He has been fighting since March. Cancer is stupid…you are sick without treatment, and the treatment makes you sick.
    You are loved and you are not alone. I am sure you know these things, but in times of sadness they deserve repeating. ♡

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

