Star Wars: the Force Awakens (2015)

This happened to be my first theater experience with the Star Wars franchise. I was uninterested and hadn’t quite embraced my sci-fi geekdom at the time of the prequels and I wasn’t alive during the series original releases. I made fun of my brother for going at midnight (to the prequels) and dressing up to the best of his abilities and starting lightsaber fights while in line. I was not making fun his love for Star Wars, just making fun of him for doing something so nerdy as going to see a movie at midnight.

Trust me, I learned the hard way that you can fall so deeply in love with a fandom universe and it was not too long after that I started attending midnight movie releases and COSPLAYing events just for funsies. Some spoilers below so beware!

Star Wars

Right away, I want to address the issue of a lot of people saying that there are a lot of unanswered questions in this film. WELL DUH! It is the first of at least three films. Should this series leave you with more questions than answers at the end, then maybe you can start complaining.

That being said, I happened to adore this movie. There was sweet Jedi action, some hints of romance, and a very emo puppet to a super mysterious face in the sky.

I’m so impressed with Rey, the female co-protagonist (I’ll get to that in a bit), and her ability to adjust, the fact that she was smart, and her loyalty to her family (despite their absence). Plus, she’s a mother-effin Jedi my friends. And she’s good at it. I know there are a good handful of lady Jedi, but none that are main characters that I know of. My favorite thing about her is that she is resourceful and stubborn. I  also happen to love Finn, the male co-protagonist.  His transformation from follower to leader was great! I honestly couldn’t decide who the main character was of the film, between the two. Their stories are wonderful and a great way to start this series.

Special shout out to Poe because I absolutely ship Finn/Poe relationship. In my brain, they’ve got a total dude-bro romance. Especially with the jacket giving moment.

Poe-FinnIf anyone knows who/where I can credit this image to, let me know please!

 

I was not prepared for a main character death, although, watching it occur on screen, I knew in my gut what was about to happen. Didn’t make it easier and I will never by okay.

I am curious to find out more about Kylo Ren. I couldn’t figure out who he is taking orders from but I can totally see the relation between angsty-emo Kylo and angry-angsty Anakin (Grandpa).

 

I really enjoyed this film. I adore the other Star Wars films and I am eager to see more.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Sam & Sage says:

    I agree. The seventh installment of the franchise wasn’t disappointing with fresh new blood on the field and stunning visual effects. However, i felt that it didn’t live up to the height as the previous six. I’ll have to excuse for the fact that the force is awakening after many years of desolation so it has to pick up slowly to go to the climax of the entire star wars world that was built those days. The only backdrop was the lack of a very compelling story. I hope to see an improvement in Rogue One this year and Episode 8 next year.

    Like

Leave a Reply

