5 Fandom Friday

I though, while trying to get back into regular posting, I would start adding the 5 Fandom Friday’s to my postings. One way to ensure consistency with a plethora of possibilities. Plus, hello, nerdy blog. Let my freak flag fly. Or something like that!

Let’s start with with something simple; 5 fandoms I actively take part in or express on a regular basis. This may contain spoiler’s for movies or television shows. Just be cautious.

 

marvel-universe

  1. Marvel Universe

I doubt there is any surprise here, due to the amount of Marvel film reviews that exist on the blog. But, I also began reading some comics this year; recently the X-Men: Age of Apocalypse series.

I’ll admit, I have never seen any cartoons when I was a kid or read any of the comics until recently. My first real exposure to the Marvel Universe came with the 2002 Spider-Man movie. Needless to say, I was unimpressed and put off ‘super hero’ movies for about four years until my friend convinced me to watch the 2000 X-Men and 2003 X2: X-Men 2 film so that I would go watch the 2006 X-Men: the Last Stand with her. Although I enjoyed the cast of X-Men Origins: Wolverine (2009), I have no problem admitting that the film was a disaster, which is why I am so pleased The Wolverine (2013) was great and Logan (2017) looks so amazing! I have rather enjoyed the newer series of X-Men movies as well; X-Men: First Class (2011), X-Men: Days of Future Past (2014), and X-Men: Apocalypse (2016).

Also (this is almost embarrassing to admit) I fell asleep while watching the first Iron Man (2008) movie at a friend’s house. My favorite films from the recent-ish Marvel universe revival are Thor (2011), Captain America: the Winter Soldier (2014), and Guardian’s of the Galaxy (2014). Also, I may be one of the few people that rather enjoyed Ben Affleck’s Daredevil (2003) and Jennifer Gardner’s Elektra (2005) — which I didn’t see for probably about five years AFTER they came out.

Since then, I have dived headfirst into the fandom and that includes the newer television series (both regular tv and Netflix). I didn’t (and still don’t) like the pilot episode to Agents of SHIELD but I love the rest of the show (most specifically FitzSimmons). Foxy Husband and I have a mutual dislike of Skye/Daisy. I have loved the Daredevil series (in a completely different way than I enjoyed the movie) for its grittiness and characters and the Jessica Jones series for Jessica alone.

 

dc-universe

2. DC Universe

This character universe was my first introduction to the ‘superhero’ types. Like Marvel, I never watched the cartoons or read the comics (until recently).

Let’s start off with my favorite of all favorites. Batman. Why is he my favorite you ask? First of all, Batman (1989) and Batman Returns (1992) were my VERY first superhero films as a kid. And when I was a teenager, I acquired quite a fondness for all things Michael Keaton, which has only increased as the years pass. The movies were both campy and comic-y and visually stunning.Also, the idea of a ‘superhero’ who has no actual super powers unless of course you count being a rather rich orphan something of superior human skills. Of course I saw Batman Forever (1995) and Batman & Robin (1997), but nothing compared to the first two.  Eventually, as a teenager, my parents got me the very first Batman movie, with Adam West, Batman: the Movie (1966) and it was absolutely hilarious and wonderful all at the same time.

It took me about a year to warm up to watching the Dark Knight series. Batman Begins (2005) was a beautiful, dark, and modern version of my favorite superhero but what really impressed me was the Dark Knight (2008). Most specifically the Joker. Which is probably why the Dark Knight Rises (2012) was great, but also hard to follow after Heath Ledger’s performance. However, I did enjoy Bane’s scenes immensely. I also liked Anne Hathaway’s Cat Woman, but I don’t think anyone can top Michelle Pfieffer.

Eventually I saw the Ryan Reynold’s’ Green Lantern (2011) film but it was awful. Thankfully, even Ryan Reynold’s can make fun of it. Just like his role as Deadpool in Marvel’s X-Men Origins: Wolverine (2009). I never had any interest in any Superman movies (both him and Spiderman just annoy me so much; Superman being this perfect farm boy next door) until Man of Steel (2013). I enjoyed it so much! I loved the cast but mostly Clark Kent’s struggle to both embrace his powers and maintain his humanity. I enjoyed Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice (2016) but it felt more like a stepping stone for setting up the Justice League movie than a Superman film. And I was super hesitant about Ben Affleck’s Batman but once Foxy Husband explained old man Bruce Wayne’s status and story, I thought it was quite enjoyable.

I was excited about the Suicide Squad (2016) film but I came away with super mixed feelings. One of the hardest things about this film was not knowing the background to just about every character (except of course, Harley and the Joker) and the film just thrust us unto their world.

 

joss-whedon-verse

3. Joss Whedon ‘Verse

Although Batman was my first superhero love, my friend Angela really introduced me to some geek culture in the way of Joss Whedon.

There was one summer where, after showing me pictures of the cast, I reluctantly watched the first episode of Buffy the Vampire Slayer and realized that I had to watch the second one because it was a cliff hanger. The rest of the summer was spent binge watching the first three seasons and anxiously awaiting the fourth’s dvd release. The whole concept of a young teenage woman in charge of saving the planet and a set of goofy friends and family to help her was mind boggling. Add a classic monster, vampires, and you’ve got great fight scenes and witty one liners. The language was amazing and new to me as well as the monster lore. The Angel spin-off lacked a certain amount something from the Buffy show but the last season was phenomenal. I loved Wolfram & Hart though, as the main evil villain. I won’t even go into how much I wanted Angel’s son to die so hard every time his annoying whiny little face came on screen. UGH.

The truest love of my life from Joss Whedon lies soley in the Firefly (Serenity) world. Admittedly, I saw the movie before the show, but that only made me want to go back and watch it more. Once again, I love Joss Whedon’s take on language for different characters and the one liners he uses. I love the characters, good and bad but I especially love the ship itself, Serenity. Unfortunately I saw the show too late to try to save it. Either way, I love that it’s been 10+ years and the cast still talk to each other like family. Another one close to heart is Dr Horrible’s Sing Along Blog – it was written and filmed in the height of the writer’s strike and it is absolutely a gem! It is hilarious and campy and the songs are super catchy!

 

harry-potter-universe

4. Harry Potter Land

I was 10 years old and in the fifth grade when our teacher read to us Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone. At the time, only the first two books in the series were available but they were picking up steam in the States, which was evident in the buzz for the third one about to be released as well as the first film about to come out next year. I was twitterpated. As much as any 10 year old book nerd could be.

I was fascinated by everything! The characters: good, bad, witches, wizards, muggles! The spells, all the new words, the whole idea of a boarding school that wasn’t a total drag. And when the movies came out, oh my stars! The characters were the same age as me! And yes, I was one of those tweens that drooled over Tom Felton, despite his character’s supreme snobbiness. {I have since moved on to mooning over Nevile; the honesty, the clumsiness, the bravery, the nerd; swoon!}

Though I haven’t been to any of the Universal Harry Potter worlds, I will go. Preferably before ever having children that way I can 100% geek out and embrace everything Harry Potter, without having to worry about watching after my spawn. It’s been nearly twenty years since I first got a hold of the books but I still love rereading them, rewatching them, finding fan art, writing fan fiction. I truly and wholly love and embrace this fandom. Also, in case you’re wondering, Hufflepuff is my house.

 

walking-dead

 

5. the Walking Dead

Oh my stars do I love this show!

I did not start watching this show, till season four was about to come available on Netflix. I had never seen a horror story so beautifully made for television without it being too campy and gross. This was subtle and humanistic.

I am happy to say that some of my least favorite characters have long been killed and unhappy to admit that my favorite character is dead. The show has amazing villains, straight from the comics! I get entirely too conflicted when they cast super handsome people to be villains (*cough* Jeffrey Dean Morgan *cough*) but sometimes that is a part of their charm. Also, Foxy Husband and I have this theory about Rick’s ever changing facial hair: the bigger the beard, the less fucks he gives. He could Rickbomb you at any moment if his beard is bangin!

I have read all the comics up till the end of Compendium Three. Because the show is current, I don’t want to post any spoilers. But the difference isn’t too bad right now. Some of the characters from the beginning season were mashup of two from the comic, or the switched the ages for some characters.

The comics really give you understanding of how humans are more harmful than the walkers and the television show creates a visual to go along with it.

 

Some fandoms that almost made the list:

Supernatural

Doctor Who

Sherlock

Jane Austen

Classic Horror Films

 

What fandoms are you a part of? Comment below!

 

Leave a Reply

