5 Fandom Friday

As we reach the end of the year, I thought it’d be appropriate to write about the tv shows that I finished this year.

Supernatural

Now I know the show itself is not technically over but I managed to complete all 12 seasons (that were available on Netflix) within a year. Some people are capable of binge watching that show, which I understand, but some season were incredibly difficult to watch (aka not very interesting) and they kept killing off all the great characters. I suspect that I’ll keep up with it though, when the next season becomes available.

CSI: NY

After finishing Miami and dealing with Horatio, I thought that Mac Taylor and the grittier city of New York would be a welcome delight. However, it took at least two seasons for New York to get it’s groove on and even longer to come up with the awful/awesome and inappropriate one liners. I liked more of the cast on this CSI New York than I did CSI Miami but I still hold a special place in my heart for CSI Las Vegas (the original show, which I am currently watching on Hulu).

Leverage

I can’t tell you how many times I have re-watched this show since I finished it the first time around. I love the quirky characters (but especially Christian Kane as Elliot Spencer because he’s foxy and I’ve loved him since Angel — but I digress). One of the most appealing factors of the show is the whole idea of stealing for good and the complicated scenarios they get themselves into. I don’t really have the skills of any of the characters and I’ve never stolen anything on purpose (my brother got me into some trouble many moons ago).

Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.

Though it took me a while to get past the pilot episode (it was a bit too slow for me) I really enjoy Agents. Coulson is a huge draw for me. He was in the whole superhero Avengers story from the beginning and he’s quite witty/sarcastic. I like that quality in people in charge. Foxy Husband and I agree that Skye/Daisy/Quake is probably one of the most annoying characters but it is seemingly, about her. With Hulu, we can now keep up on a regular basis which makes it more exciting for us. Can’t wait for more.

Stranger Things

I feel as if I’m cheating a bit by this one on the list, due to the fact that it only has one season, but the show had such a great impact. It was youthful and imaginative and it inspired me to finally join one of those table top rpg games that my friends have been nagging me about for about 6 years. Eleven was such a strong young female character and there were plenty of times where I wish I had her moxy.

 

I am almost done with Xena: Warrior Princess but I still have  ways to go with Dawson’s Creek, Murder She Wrote, and CSI [Las Vegas]. I’ve recently started watching the Librarian’s. I rather enjoyed the movies and kind of follow Christian Kane [see above] wherever he goes cause he’s funny. And nice to look at. And can sing like an angel. Also, recently started the reboot of Hawaii 5-O. Looking forward to seeing more LOST alumni show up on the island (Hurley!).

 

Any suggestions on what to watch next? I’m making my way through 90’s tv shows and older mystery type shows (probably Magnum PI after Murder She Wrote).

Leave a Reply

