Rogue One (2016)

I wish I had seen this as my first Star Wars film, in theaters (for my generation at least). I just had so many beautiful feelings watching this film.

star-wars-rogue-one-3

Rogue One was directed by Gareth Edwards, who also directed Monsters (2010) and Godzilla in (2014). It was written by roughly four people: Chris Weitz (About A Boy in 2002 & Cinderella in 2015), Tony Gilroy (The Jason Bourne series starting in 2002), John Knoll, and Gary Whitta (the Book of Eli in 2010 & After Earth in 2014). And of course, credit to George Lucas.

star-wars-rogue-one

This film stars Felicity Jones (Jyn Erso), Diego Luna (Cassian Andor), Alan Tudyk (K-2SO), Guy Henry (Governor Tarkin), Forest Whittaker (Saw Gerrera), and Mads Mikkelsen (Galen Erso). Plus many more. Many many more.

star-wars-rogue-one-2

When Jyn’s father is forced into creating a part of the Death Star, Jyn teams up with the Rebel Alliance to find her father, find out what he knows, and try to stop Darth Vader and his gang. The story creates a tremendous race to pass on information while a rather large and intense battle occurs.

star-wars-rogue-one-4

I cannot stress how much I really really really enjoyed this movie. The movie score, traditional John Williams by Michael Giacchino, created nostalgia for the original trilogy. The story was beautiful and I like that it wasn’t marred by any unnecessary romances. The individual characters were unique and useful to the story and seeing some traditional characters on screen made it feel like a real Star Wars film. The battle scenes were not over the top and I rather enjoyed the vintage feel of all the costumes. Vintage but not dated. This mini-prequel story was way better than Star Wars I, II, or III. Trust me.

I give this movie a 10/10 while Rotten Tomatoes gives it 7.5/10.

Did you see Rogue One? What did you like/hate? Comment below!

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

