Mike Massimino’s Spaceman: An Astronaut’s Unlikely Journey to Unlock the Secrets of the Universe

This biography was one of the best books I had read in a while. It was hilarious and heartwarming and about space, which I love!

Spaceman

Mike Massimino is an astronaut! If that wasn’t obvious. Okay, besides that, this book was so much fun! This book was about his hard journey to become his lifelong dream of going into space. To be fair, any journey worth going through is going to be tough. He had this dream since he was in grade school and is still excited about space today, which makes it amazing. He got rejected twice by the academy and had to overcome medical issues with his eyes to go into space! He is/was a Hubble enthusiast and is a natural talking to the rest of us non-astronauts.

Spaceman2

I cannot stress how much I enjoyed this book. Mike Massimino has quite a sense of humor; it is mixed with sarcasm and intelligence which is my favorite kind. I thought it was inspiring too, reading about how Mike (yeah, we’re on a first name basis since I read his biography) had this life long dream and made it come true. Even though he was rejected twice, he still persevered. I really enjoyed reading about the support he had; from his family, his parents, his classmates, and most of all, the support for everyone he worked with at NASA. I really liked how he sees himself as approachable and used that quality to reach out to other astronauts, students, strangers, etc. It was easy to read, which made me have a hard time putting it down. I would recommend this to anyone who enjoys stories about space or anyone with a dream that they’re struggling with.

 

PS. I got this book from Blogging For Books

Have you read Spaceman: An Astronaut’s Unlikely Journey to Unlock the Secrets of the Universe? Comment below!

Leave a Reply

