Adventures in Babysitting (1987)

Husband talked about this film and was shocked when I told him I hadn’t seen it. But then I got to tease him cause the whole reason he watched it when he was younger was for Elizabeth Shue.

Adventures in Babysitting2

Adventures in Babysitting was directed by Chris Columbus (his first time!). He is known for Home Alone (1990), Mrs. Doubtfire (1993), Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone (2001), and Rent (2005). It was written by David Simkins who is known for several episodes of Charmed (1998), several episodes of Warhouse 13 (2009), and several episodes of Powers (2016). This movie stars Elizabeth Shue (Chris), Maia Brewton (Sara), Keith Coogan (Brad), Anthony Rapp (Daryl), Penelope Ann Miller (Brenda), Calvin Levels (Joe), John Ford Noonan (Pruitt), Ron Canada (Graydon), Bradley Whitford (Mike), and George Newbern (Dan).

Adventures in Babysitting

When Chris’s boyfriend cancels their anniversary dinner, she reluctantly accepts the babysitting offer for Sara and Brad. Brad’s friend Daryl also decides to stay over. Chris’s friend Brenda has a meltdown that same night and backs out of running away, but gets stuck at the train station in town so Chris and the gang decided to drive into the city to save her. On the way into the city, she loses her purse and gets a flat tire. The rest of the night includes a wild chase through the city that includes a tow truck driver, a chop shop, an impromptu blues performance, switchblade to the foot, a frat party, Thor the mechanic, and a very important issue of Playboy magazine.

Adventures in Babysitting4

I have to admit, I was hesitant at first. I really enjoyed though, as soon as I saw Sara running around in her Thor helmet, I was hooked. I loved the slightly dated looks, slang, and pop culture of the movie. In an age where everything can be monitored (nanny cams, internet, gps tracking, etc) this movie was a great reminder of how simple babysitting used to be (well… sort of you. You know, without the city adventure). I liked all the different environments they went on; like it wasn’t limited to one set. And the kids she was babysitting were fun! It just felt like a good comedy film to me.

I give Adventures in Babysitting a solid 9/10 while Rotten Tomatoes gives it 6.5/10.

Adventures in Babysitting5

In 2016, Disney decided to remake the original into one of their Disney Chanel Original Movies (DCOMS). But that makes less sense to me, since it’s not really an original film. Either way, I haven’t seen it yet. While I am curious to see what a modern version would look like, they changed it a bit so that two rival babysitters team up when one of their charges goes missing in the city on their watch. Sounds meh to me. I don’t like that there are so many kids involved.

Have you seen Adventures in Babysitting, original or remake? Comment below!

 

Leave a Reply

